Kaviha v Republic (Criminal Appeal 59 of 2020) [2025] KECA 1210 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a murder conviction but ordered that nearly two years spent in custody during trial be credited against a 45-year sentence.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Proof of murder to the required standard
The four ingredients of murder (death, cause of death, unlawful act of the accused, malice aforethought) were proved beyond reasonable doubt by the direct evidence of PW10
The postmortem confirmed death by severe burns. PW10, who knew the Appellant, saw him siphon petrol from the motorcycle, pour it on the deceased and set him on fire after the cleansing ritual failed. This direct evidence established that the Appellant caused the death with the intention to cause death or grievous harm, satisfying malice aforethought under section 206 of the Penal Code.
Provocation by witchcraft
The defence fails; mere unsubstantiated murmurs that the deceased was a witch do not meet the threshold, and the defence was not raised at trial
The settled principle is that belief in witchcraft does not justify killing a suspected witch unless the accused acted in fear of immediate danger, establishing grave and sudden provocation. There must be firm evidence of identifiable acts of witchcraft attributable to the deceased. Here there were only unsubstantiated murmurs, not even emanating from the Appellant, and the defence was raised for the first time in submissions on appeal.
Credit for pre-sentence custody
The period of 1 year and 11 months spent in custody during trial must be taken into account in computing the sentence since the trial court did not expressly do so
The proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code obliges sentencing courts to account for time spent in custody during trial. The trial court indicated no commencement date for the 45-year sentence. Computation of the record (arraignment on 14 October 2015, release on bail 16 December 2016, bail cancelled 26 September 2019, judgment 22 July 2020) yields 1 year and 11 months, which must be credited.
Legal principles established
#- Unless the trial court expressly states that it has taken into account the period a convicted person spent in custody before sentencing, that period forms part of the sentence under the proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code
- Mere belief in witchcraft does not constitute a defence of provocation; the accused must show an act of witchcraft done in his presence that deprived him of self-control
- On a first appeal, the Court of Appeal must re-examine the evidence afresh and reach its own independent conclusions
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal against conviction is dismissed
- 2.The appeal against sentence succeeds only to the extent that, in computing the sentence, the period of 1 year and 11 months the Appellant spent in custody during the trial shall be taken into account
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- Not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Criminal Procedure Code (murder trial by the High Court)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Kaviha v Republic (Criminal Appeal 59 of 2020) [2025] KECA 1210 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1210/eng@2025-07-04
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.