Dennis Kipkurui Kigen Alias Killing & 1 other v Republic
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld two murder convictions but ordered the 20-year sentences to count time spent in remand from March 2016.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Proof of the death of the deceased
Death was proved to the required standard through the post mortem evidence and identification of the body
PW12, the doctor who conducted the post mortem, opined that death resulted from trauma to the chest cavity causing liver rupture and massive hemorrhage. The body was identified by the deceased's brothers and a police officer. The Court accepted this medical evidence as establishing death beyond reasonable doubt.
Causation and unlawfulness of the act causing death
The appellants' repeated grievous assault caused the death; the theory that a cow horn pierced the deceased was unpersuasive
The consistent eyewitness accounts of PW1, PW3 and PW4 established that the appellants beat the deceased with a rungu and stick until he fainted, creating an unbroken chain of events leading to death. The autopsy attributed death to chest trauma. The contention that the deceased was pierced by cows' horns was rejected as unpersuasive and unsupported by visible injuries observed by PW1 and PW2.
Malice aforethought
Malice aforethought was established by the vicious, prolonged assault and indifference to the deceased's plight
The appellants assaulted the deceased repeatedly, ignored pleas to stop, left him lying outside without medical attention from about 1:00 a.m. until 8:00 a.m., and only facilitated hospitalisation after the chief's intervention. Knowledge that such conduct would cause grievous injury satisfied section 206 of the Penal Code. The unsworn defences were properly considered and rejected.
Minority of the 1st appellant and adequacy of sentence
Although the 1st appellant was a minor at the time of the offence, the 20-year custodial sentence was appropriate since he was of majority age at sentencing
The record confirmed the 1st appellant was remanded in a children's remand home and testified he was 16 years old; the probation report of 2019 showed he was then 18. The Court distinguished AL v Republic, finding the aggravating factors here — joint participation with his uncle and failure to assist the deceased — justified the custodial sentence notwithstanding his minority at the time of the offence.
Computation of sentence under section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code
The sentences should run from the date the appellants were arraigned in court, 11th March 2016
The record showed the case proceeded while the appellants were in remand from the date of arraignment. The Court varied the commencement date of the sentences accordingly, the only respect in which the appeal succeeded.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court must re-evaluate the evidence on record and draw its own inferences and conclusions, while bearing in mind that it did not see or hear the witnesses.
- A conviction for murder requires proof of the death of the deceased, that the act or omission causing death was unlawful, that it was committed by the perpetrator, and malice aforethought.
- Knowledge that one's actions would cause serious injury to the victim amounts to malice aforethought; taking the law into one's own hands by viciously assaulting a suspected thief does not exculpate.
- Where an accused was in remand before conviction, the sentence must be computed to take that period into account.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal on conviction is dismissed; the convictions for murder are affirmed
- 2.The appeal on sentence succeeds only to the extent that the sentences shall run from the date the appellants were arraigned in court, 11th March 2016, as the case proceeded while the appellants were in remand
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- Not stated in judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction under the Court of Appeal Act (not expressly cited); the Court exercised its duty as a first appellate court to re-evaluate the evidence
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Dennis Kipkurui Kigen Alias Killing & 1 other v Republic", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (case number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1143/eng@2025-06-20
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.