Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] KECA 279 (KLR)

Sarah Mumo Muvake & 1 other v Co-operavite Bank of Kenya Limited

Court of Appeal of Kenya
21 February 2025
1,369 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Court of Appeal refused to pause a Kajiado judgment ordering occupants to vacate a Kajiado home, because the occupants' appeal lacked a credible arguable point.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
Before the Court of Appeal at Nairobi was an application dated 1st August 2024 under Rule 5(2)(b) of the Court of Appeal Rules, seeking to stay the implementation of a judgment of the High Court of Kenya at Kajiado delivered on 25th July 2024. The judgment had given the applicants 14 days to vacate the suit property, L.R. No. Kajiado/kaputiei/north/19453, which they occupied as a matrimonial home of 48 years, and they feared sale and eviction would render their intended appeal nugatory. Their grounds of arguability were that the respondent bank failed to serve the statutory notice under Section 96 of the Land Act, 2012, and failed to disclose the quantum of the outstanding loan after the principal borrower's death on 13th June 2020, ignoring their two letters of July 2020. The respondent countered that the statutory notice was duly served at the postal address the principal borrower had given as his address for service, and that service also complied with the contractual mode. The court, applying the settled twin principles from Stanley Kang'ethe Kinyanjui v Tony Keter, found the applicants had failed to demonstrate an arguable appeal, noting they had not challenged the address of service and had made no payments since the borrower's death. The court declined to make definitive findings at that stage. On the nugatory limb, it observed obiter that the respondent, a reputable commercial bank, could pay any damages. The application was dismissed with costs to the respondent. The decision is a single judgment of the whole court with no separate opinions.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the applicants had an arguable appeal

Holding

The court found no arguable appeal. The statutory notice under Section 96 of the Land Act was served at the principal borrower's given address for service, and the court declined to make definitive findings on the merits.

Reasoning

The applicants did not challenge that the principal borrower had given his postal address as his address for service and that the statutory notice was sent there. Their argument that the bank should have physically delivered the notice to the suit property was rejected, the court noting the bank also complied with the contractual mode of service. It is sufficient if a single bona fide arguable ground is raised, but none was demonstrated.

p. 3
02

Whether the appeal would be rendered nugatory if the stay were not granted

Holding

Having found no arguable appeal, the court did not need to reach the nugatory limb, but observed obiter that the respondent, a reputable commercial bank, could pay any damages awarded.

Reasoning

The court noted the twin principles must both be satisfied, but failure on the first disposed of the application. It nonetheless reasoned that the respondent was a reputable commercial bank able to satisfy any damages, so the appeal would not be rendered nugatory even if the applicants succeeded.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant under Rule 5(2)(b) must satisfy both twin principles: an arguable appeal and that the appeal would be rendered nugatory absent a stay.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 1st August 2024 for stay of implementation of the High Court judgment is dismissed
  2. 2.The applicants shall pay the respondent the costs of the application
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Kajiado
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Rule 5(2)(b) of the Court of Appeal Rules (stay of execution / injunction pending appeal)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Sarah Mumo Muvake & 1 other v Co-operavite Bank of Kenya Limited", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/279/eng@2025-02-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.