Chacha v Republic (Criminal Appeal 253 of 2019) [2024] KECA 1812 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a murder conviction but replaced the death sentence with 40 years' imprisonment, showing courts can revisit sentences after Muruatetu.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the evidence adduced in the trial court was sufficient to prove the charge of murder against the appellant
- 2.Whether this Court should interfere with the sentence that was meted out against the appellant
Key legal issues
#Ingredients of murder
The prosecution must prove death and its cause, that death resulted from an unlawful act or omission of the accused, and malice aforethought; all three were proved.
The court restated the three elements under section 203 of the Penal Code. Death and cause were established by witness testimony and the postmortem showing cardiopulmonary arrest from excessive bleeding. Moses and Selina, who identified the appellant by recognition, proved the unlawful act. Malice aforethought was inferred under section 206(a) and (b) from the use of a panga, a deadly weapon, and the vicious multiple cuts to the neck, head and face amid a land dispute.
Identification by recognition
The appellant was well known to both eyewitnesses, and identification by recognition is more reliable than identification of a stranger.
Relying on Anjonini and Mwanzia, the court held that recognition depends on personal knowledge of the assailant. Selina and Moses had known the appellant for years, saw him clearly at the scene, and his defence of a vendetta did not explain the actual attack or the land dispute, being rightly rejected as a cock and bull story.
Non-production of the murder weapon and forensic evidence
Failure to produce the panga or to adduce DNA/fingerprint evidence was not fatal to the prosecution case.
Following Mwithia and Karani, the court held that where the cause of death is patently obvious from the postmortem, showing fatal injuries from a sharp weapon, and eyewitnesses saw the appellant armed with the panga, conviction may stand without the exhibit being produced. No prejudice to the defence was shown.
Interference with the death sentence
The death sentence was set aside and replaced with 40 years' imprisonment because the sentencing judge, not having tried the case and predating Muruatetu, did not consider all sentencing options or the appellant's mitigation.
Although sentencing is the trial court's discretion, the sentencing judge (Nagila, J.) neither conducted the trial nor appreciated the circumstances or mitigation, and was constrained by the then-mandatory death penalty under section 204 before Muruatetu. This justified interference; 40 years was considered appropriate given the injuries, circumstances and mitigation, computed from the date of first arraignment.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court must re-examine and analyse the evidence afresh and reach its own conclusion, while allowing for the trial court's advantage of seeing and observing the witnesses.
- Failure by the prosecution to produce the alleged murder weapon is not fatal to the prosecution case where the court believes on the evidence that such a weapon existed.
- An appellate court will not interfere with sentence unless it is manifestly excessive, or the trial court overlooked a material factor, took into account wrong material, or acted on a wrong principle.
- Discrepancies in prosecution evidence are assessed against section 382 CPC: only those causing prejudice to the accused warrant interference.
Court orders
#- 1.Conviction for murder upheld (appeal against conviction dismissed)
- 2.Death sentence set aside and substituted with a sentence of forty (40) years imprisonment
- 3.Sentence to be computed from 2nd July 2010, the date the appellant was first arraigned in court
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- not stated in judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Constitution and the Criminal Procedure Code (not expressly cited; the appeal was heard as a first appeal)
Relief refused
#Quashing of the conviction for murder
Evidence of recognition by Moses and Selina, the postmortem findings and inference of malice aforethought proved the charge beyond reasonable doubt; discrepancies were curable under section 382 CPC
Costs
No costs order was made in the judgment.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
We therefore set aside the death sentence that was imposed on the appellant, and substitute thereto a sentence of forty (40) years imprisonment. The sentence shall be computed from 2nd July, 2010, which is the date that the appellant was first arraigned in court
So long as the court believes, on evidence before it, that such a weapon existed at the time of the ofience, the court may still enter and has been entering conviction without the weapon being produced as exhibit.
recognition of an assailant is more satisfactory, more assuring, and more reliable than identification of a stranger
On appeal, the appellate court will not easily interfere with sentence unless, that sentence is manifestly excessive in the circumstances of the case, or that the trial court overlooked some material factor
We are satisfied that the inconsistencies did not prejudice the appellant and are curable under Section 382 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
malice aforethought was properly inferred under Section 206(a) and (b) of the Penal Code.
Issues in the judgment
#The appeal number is not stated anywhere in the judgment text provided.
The lower-court murder case number and the date of the conviction judgment are not stated; only the sentencing date is given.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Chacha v Republic (Criminal Appeal 253 of 2019) [2024] KECA 1812 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Criminal Appeal (not specified in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/1812/eng@2024-12-20
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.