Mboya v Republic (Criminal Appeal 74 of 2019) [2024] KECA 1658 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that anyone who joins a mob attack can be convicted of murder even if no one can prove who struck the fatal blow.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the Prosecution proved that the deceased died as a result of the assault arising from the mob justice
- 2.Whether common intention was established between the appellant and the mob, to warrant the appellant being convicted for the offence of murder
- 3.Whether there were fundamental contradictions and discrepancies in the prosecution witnesses' evidence
- 4.Whether the appellant's conviction was safe
Key legal issues
#Proof of death and cause of death
Death was proved by the oral testimony of witnesses and by the postmortem report properly produced under section 77 of the Evidence Act; the discrepancy between the postmortem date (15 July 2014) and the alleged burial date (10 July 2014) was immaterial and likely a recording error.
The court found it established from prosecution, defence and appellant's own evidence that the deceased died. The burial date was of no material significance: it was practically impossible for a deceased in a police investigation to be buried the day after death, and either the witness or the trial judge erred in recording the date. The report was properly produced by a doctor familiar with the pathologist's handwriting.
Whether the appellant was a mere bystander or an active participant
The appellant led the mob and actively participated in the assault; his defence of mere presence was rejected.
Four eyewitnesses (Emily, Florence, Teddy and Collins) testified that the appellant not only directed the mob but actively participated in the assault. His own defence placed him at the scene. The court preferred the eyewitness account that he played a lead role in the fatal assault over his claim of being a bystander.
Common intention under section 21 of the Penal Code
The doctrine of common intention applied: the appellant and the mob had a common unlawful venture of taking the law into their own hands, and death was a probable consequence, so all are deemed to have committed murder.
It may be impossible to identify the fatal blow, but section 21 deems each participant in a common unlawful purpose liable where the offence committed was a probable consequence. Malice aforethought was established under section 206(a), (b) and (c) as the mob intended to cause death or grievous harm. The appellant was at the forefront because the stolen property was his.
Alleged contradictions and failure to call certain witnesses
The contradictions were not fundamental and the prosecution was not obliged to call the police officers who rescued the deceased or the pathologist who performed the autopsy.
The court found the discrepancies immaterial to the root of the case. The prosecution need only call witnesses sufficient to establish the charge beyond reasonable doubt; the police officers who rescued the deceased were not crucial and their absence caused no prejudice to the appellant.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court must reconsider and re-evaluate the evidence afresh and draw its own conclusions, while allowing for the fact that it did not see or hear the witnesses.
- Death and cause of death may be proved without the production of a postmortem report; the person who performed the autopsy need not personally testify where the report is properly produced under sections 33 and 77 of the Evidence Act.
- Where an accused and a mob prosecute a common unlawful purpose and death is a probable consequence, each participant is deemed under section 21 of the Penal Code to have committed murder even if the fatal blow cannot be attributed to him individually.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal against conviction and sentence is dismissed in its entirety
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal against conviction and sentence for murder (not expressly stated; statutory first-appeal jurisdiction under the Court of Appeal Act assumed)
Relief refused
#Appeal against conviction
The prosecution proved death, cause of death, participation by the appellant and malice aforethought; conviction was safe
Appeal against sentence
No specific ground was pleaded regarding sentence and the trial Judge properly exercised his discretion
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
It is now trite law that “it is the duty of a first appellate court to reconsider the evidence, evaluate it itself and draw its own conclusions in deciding whether the judgment of the trial court should be upheld”
When two or more persons form a common intention to prosecute an unlawful purpose in conjunction with one another, and in the prosecution of such purpose an ofience is committed of such a nature that its commission was a probable consequence of the prosecution of such purpose, each of them is deemed to have committed the ofience.
Malice aforethought was established under section 206(a)(b) and (c) as the appellant and the mob intended to cause the death of, or do grievous harm to the deceased.
The upshot of the above is that the appellant’s conviction was safe and the appeal against conviction and sentence has no merit. The appeal is accordingly dismissed in its entirety.
Issues in the judgment
#Recurring typographical error rendering 'offence' and 'sufficient' as 'ofience'/'suficient' etc. throughout the certified copy of the judgment.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Mboya v Republic (Criminal Appeal 74 of 2019) [2024] KECA 1658 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Criminal Appeal (not stated on the face of the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/1658/eng@2024-11-15
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.