Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal (not stated in judgment)· [2024] KECA 691 (KLR)

Mafanikio Hassan Mwanyoha v Republic

Court of Appeal of Kenya
25 January 2024
4,005 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a robbery conviction but replaced the death sentence with 10 years' imprisonment because no one was actually injured.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is the appellant's second appeal against conviction and sentence for robbery with violence contrary to sections 295 and 296(2) of the Penal Code. The appellant and a co-accused were convicted by the Principal Magistrates Court at Kwale and sentenced to death; on first appeal the High Court (A. Ongeri, J.) upheld the appellant's conviction and sentence but set aside the co-accused's conviction. The Court of Appeal (Gatembu Kairu, Lesiit and Odunga, JJA) confined itself to questions of law under section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code and framed three issues: identification, the doctrine of recent possession, and sentence. On identification, the Court found the complainant's daylight observation of his assailant was careful, not fleeting, and the conditions conducive; doubts the High Court entertained about the co-accused did not impeach the appellant's identification, and the concurrent findings of the two courts below stood. The doctrine of recent possession was properly invoked, as the stolen phone, wallet and credit cards were recovered from the appellant shortly after the robbery. On sentence, the Court found no cogent evidence of physical injury beyond a knife threat, an aspect overlooked below, and applying section 179(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code and the process of subtraction in Jessee Mwangi Theuri and Robert Mutungi Muumbi, held the appropriate offence for sentencing was simple robbery. The Court set aside the death sentence and substituted a prison term of 10 years commencing from the date of arrest. The appeal otherwise failed; no costs order was made.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the appellant was positively identified as one of the robbers

Holding

Yes. The encounter occurred in broad daylight; the complainant's observation was not a fleeting glance, and his detailed description and immediate arrest of the appellant supported the concurrent findings below.

Reasoning

The complainant faced his assailants, concentrated on the tall assailant with the knife, noted his striped polo shirt, and identified him in court. The attack occurred at about 11.30 a.m. in daylight, conditions conducive to correct identification. The appellant was arrested within minutes and property was recovered from him. The High Court's doubts about the co-accused, who is not before the Court, do not undermine the appellant's identification.

p. 5
02

Whether the doctrine of recent possession was properly invoked

Holding

Yes. Items stolen in the robbery, including the LG phone and wallet with credit cards, were recovered from the appellant hours after the robbery, and the appellant surrendered the phone at the police station while begging forgiveness.

Reasoning

The complainant described the contents of his bag in detail; except for the reading glasses, all the items were recovered from the appellant shortly after the theft. Possession of recently stolen property, unexplained, justified the inference of guilt and buttressed the identification evidence, making the conviction safe.

p. 6
03

Whether the death sentence was appropriate

Holding

No. There was no cogent evidence of physical harm or injury beyond the threat with a knife, an aspect not considered by the courts below; the appropriate conviction for sentencing purposes was the cognate minor offence of simple robbery under section 295 of the Penal Code, warranting a 10-year prison term.

Reasoning

Section 179(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code permits conviction of a minor cognate offence where an ingredient of the major offence is unproved. Here the element of actual violence causing harm was absent, the courts below having overlooked this. Following the process of subtraction endorsed in Jessee Mwangi Theuri and Robert Mutungi Muumbi, the offence reduces to simple robbery, for which the Court substituted a 10-year sentence from the date of arrest.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • A second appeal to the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law
  • An appellate court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact by the two courts below unless those findings are not based on evidence, are based on a perversion of the evidence, or no reasonable tribunal properly directing itself would reach them
  • A fact may be proved by the testimony of a single identifying witness, but such evidence must be tested with the greatest care, particularly where identification conditions are difficult
  • An accused charged with a major cognate offence may, under section 179(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code, be convicted of, or sentenced for, a minor cognate offence where an essential ingredient of the major offence is not proved
  • An appellate court will not interfere with the sentencing discretion of the courts below unless the sentence is manifestly excessive, a material factor was overlooked, wrong material was taken into account, or a wrong principle was applied

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal succeeds only as regards sentence; the appeal is otherwise dismissed
  2. 2.The death sentence is set aside and substituted with a sentence of imprisonment for a term of 10 years commencing from the time the appellant was arrested
  3. 3.The conviction by the courts below for robbery with violence is upheld (not disturbed)
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
Second appeal to the Court of Appeal under Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code, confined to matters of law

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mafanikio Hassan Mwanyoha v Republic", Case Analysis (2024). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/691/eng@2024-01-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.