Munene v Republic (Criminal Appeal 10 of 2022) [2023] KECA 812 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a 21-year defilement sentence, confirming that a victim's testimony alone, if credible, can support a conviction.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the ingredients of defilement (age, penetration, identification) were proved to the required standard
Yes - age was proved by the mother's testimony corroborated by the P3 form; penetration was established by the victim's believable evidence together with medical findings of a hyperemic vagina with purulent discharge and a diagnosis of sexual assault, amounting to partial penetration; identification was proper as the victim led the mother, father and investigating officer to the appellant's house on three occasions and each time pointed him out.
The court reviewed the testimony and medical evidence, reanalysed it and agreed with the concurrent findings of the trial court and High Court. It applied the proviso to section 124 of the Evidence Act, deferring to the trial magistrate who saw and heard the victim, and adopted its prior reasoning that penetration need not breach the hymen. Identification was corroborated by the victim's consistent pointing out of the appellant in his own house.
Whether section 200(3) of the Criminal Procedure Code was complied with, whether crucial witnesses were not called, and whether exhibits were not produced
These complaints were not substantiated and were dismissed.
Having disposed of the merits in favour of the prosecution, the court found the remaining procedural complaints unsubstantiated. The exhibits, including the medical report and P3 form, had been produced in evidence, and no essential witness whose absence would vitiate the trial was identified.
Legal principles established
#- A second appeal to the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law; the Court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact by the two courts below unless based on no evidence, a misapprehension of the evidence, or wrong principles.
- A victim's age may be proved by documents, oral evidence of the child if sufficiently intelligent, evidence of parents or guardian, or medical evidence, provided the evidence is credible and reliable.
- Under the proviso to section 124 of the Evidence Act, a court may convict on the uncorroborated evidence of a sexual-offence victim where, for reasons recorded, it is satisfied the victim is telling the truth.
- Penetration may be partial; it matters not whether the complainant's hymen was intact so long as there is evidence of partial penetration.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed in its entirety
- 2.The conviction and sentence of 21 years' imprisonment imposed by the trial magistrates' court and upheld by the High Court are upheld
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal confined to matters of law)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (1)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Arap Tele v Republic (Criminal Appeal 8 of 2019) [2026] KECA 1145 (KLR)[2026] KECA 1145 (KLR)12 Jun 2026
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Munene v Republic (Criminal Appeal 10 of 2022) [2023] KECA 812 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Criminal Appeal (as extracted from judgment; specific number not stated). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2023/812/eng@2023-07-07
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.