Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal No. E017 of 2021 (consolidated second appeals)· [2023] KECA 296 (KLR)

Wanga & 4 others v Republic (Criminal Appeal 15 of 2020) [2023] KECA 296 (KLR)

Court of Appeal
17 March 2023
8,030 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~32 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal quashed some convictions for defective charges but upheld 30-year sentences, confirming the death penalty still applies to robbery with violence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a single judgment of the Court of Appeal at Mombasa (Kairu, Nyamweya and Lesiit JJ.A) in five consolidated second appeals against conviction for robbery with violence and sentences of death, later substituted by the High Court (Nyakundi J) with 30 years' imprisonment. The Court restated that its mandate on second appeal is confined to matters of law under section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code. On the charge sheet, it followed Joseph Njuguna Mwaura in holding that charging robbery with violence under both sections 295 and 296(2) of the Penal Code creates a duplex charge, but found the defect not fatal because the particulars were elaborate and no prejudice was shown. It agreed with the appellants that the counts of having stolen property and possession of a firearm were multiplicitous or unsupported by evidence, but treated these as curable defects affecting only the 2nd and 5th Appellants. The Court upheld the application of the doctrine of recent possession to the 2nd, 3rd and 5th Appellants, who possessed stolen items within one to two months of the robbery without explanation. It held that the phone data analysis was admissible as the analyst's primary evidence and expert opinion without a certificate under section 106B(4) of the Evidence Act. However, it found the circumstantial evidence against the 4th Appellant insufficient under the Koske, Sawe and Abanga tests and quashed his conviction, setting him at liberty. Relying on the Supreme Court's 2021 Muruatetu clarification, it held the 30-year sentences lenient and affirmed them for the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 5th Appellants to run concurrently. The appeal was partially allowed. No costs order was made.

Key legal issues

#
01

Duplex charge under sections 295 and 296(2) of the Penal Code

Holding

The duplex charge was a defect but not fatal because the particulars were elaborate, the appellants were not prejudiced, and no complaint was raised on first appeal.

Reasoning

The Court adopted Joseph Njuguna Mwaura, which holds that robbery with violence must be charged under section 296(2) alone, but followed Paul Katana Njuguna, which treats a charge stating the elements of robbery with violence as curable under section 382. The appellants pleaded, cross-examined and defended without confusion.

p. 9
02

Multiplicity of charges

Holding

The counts of having stolen property against the 2nd and 5th Appellants and the firearm possession count against the 2nd Appellant were multiplicitous or unsupported by evidence, but the defect was curable by setting aside those convictions rather than vitiating the trial.

Reasoning

The same items particularised in the stolen-property counts were also the subject of the robbery counts, risking double punishment contrary to Article 50(2)(o). Some items in the stolen-property counts had no evidence of theft at all, making the counts defective under section 214 CPC. Only the 2nd and 5th Appellants were affected and no prejudice arose.

p. 9
03

Application of the doctrine of recent possession

Holding

The doctrine was properly applied to the 2nd, 3rd and 5th Appellants, who were found with stolen items within one to two months of the robbery and gave no explanation.

Reasoning

Items stolen on December 4, 2013 were recovered from the 5th Appellant on January 21, 2014 and from the 2nd Appellant on March 2, 2014; PW1's wife's phone was sold by the 3rd Appellant's wife in January 2014. PW1 identified the recovered items, and the appellants offered no explanation for possession within the span of one to two months.

p. 11
04

Admissibility of phone data analysis without a section 106B(4) certificate

Holding

The data analysis was admissible as expert opinion and as primary evidence prepared by PW9; no certificate was required.

Reasoning

Section 78A of the Evidence Act admits electronic messages and digital material; sections 106A and 106B govern electronic records. PW9, an experienced data analyst, obtained the records from Safaricom under section 27A(3) of the Kenya Information and Communications Act and prepared the analysis herself, which was supplied to the appellants at trial.

p. 11
05

Sufficiency of circumstantial evidence against the 4th Appellant

Holding

The circumstantial evidence against the 4th Appellant did not meet the threshold in R v Kipkering Arap Koske and Sawe v Rep, and his conviction was quashed.

Reasoning

Applying the Abanga alias Onyango three-part test, the Court found unexplained gaps in the 4th Appellant's activities and whereabouts at the time of the robbery that the prosecution did not explain, so the evidence could not support a firm conclusion of guilt beyond reasonable doubt.

p. 12
06

Sentence

Holding

The 30-year sentences were affirmed as lenient given the mandatory death penalty for robbery with violence, following the Supreme Court's 2021 Muruatetu clarification limiting that decision to murder.

Reasoning

Under section 361(1)(a) CPC, severity of sentence is a matter of fact outside a second appeal. Since Muruatetu (2021) confined the unconstitutionality of the mandatory death sentence to murder, the mandatory death sentence under section 296(2) stands, making the High Court's substitution of 30 years lenient rather than excessive.

p. 12

Legal principles established

#
  • Charging robbery with violence under both sections 295 and 296(2) of the Penal Code is a duplex charge, but where elaborate particulars of robbery with violence are given and no prejudice is shown, the defect is not fatal and is curable under section 382 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
  • Multiplicity is the improper charging of the same offence in more than one count; where no prejudice is occasioned, it is curable on appeal under sections 361(2) and 382 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
  • A charge that is not disclosed by the evidence is defective.
  • The four elements of the doctrine of recent possession must all be positively proved before a conviction may rest on the doctrine.
  • Expert analysis of phone data prepared by the analyst as primary evidence requires no certificate under section 106B(4) of the Evidence Act.
  • In a second appeal the Court is confined to matters of law under section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Set aside the conviction of the 2nd Appellant for the count of possession of a firearm contrary to section 89 of the Penal Code and quash the sentence for that offence held in abeyance
  2. 2.Acquit the 2nd Appellant and 5th Appellant of the counts of having stolen property contrary to section 323 of the Penal Code
  3. 3.Quash the conviction of the 4th Appellant for the counts of robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code and set aside the sentence of 30 years' imprisonment imposed upon him
  4. 4.The 4th Appellant to be set at liberty forthwith unless otherwise lawfully held
  5. 5.Uphold the conviction of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 5th Appellants for two counts of robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code
  6. 6.Affirm the sentence of 30 years imprisonment for each count imposed on the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 5th Appellants, to run concurrently

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Penal Codesection 295
  • Penal Codesection 296(2)
  • Penal Codesection 323
  • Penal Codesection 322(1) and (2)
  • Penal Codesection 89
  • Penal Codesection 89(1)
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 382
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 361
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 361(1)(a)
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 361(2)
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 134
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 275
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 359
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 169(1) and (2)
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 214
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 215
  • Criminal Procedure Codesection 26
  • Evidence Actsection 106B(4)
  • Evidence Actsection 78A
  • Evidence Actsections 106A and B
  • Evidence Actsection 111
  • Evidence Actsection 110
  • Kenya Information and Communications Actsection 27A(3)
  • Firearms Actnot specified
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 50(2)(j)
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 50(2)(o)

Cases cited (16)

  • Isaac Nganga Kahiga alias Peter Ng'ang'a Kahiga v R
    Criminal Appeal 272 of 2005
  • Isaiah Ng'ang'a Kahiga alias Peter Ng'ang'a Kahiga v R
    Cr Appeal 272 of 2005
  • Francis Karioko Muruatetu v R
    (2017) eKLR
  • Karani v R
    (2010) 1 KLR 73
  • Sigilani v R
    (2004) 2 KLR 480
  • Mary Waithera Kamuiru & 3 others v R
    (2016) eKLR
  • Yongo v R
    (1983) KLR 319
  • Joseph Njuguna Mwaura & 2 others v R
    (2013) eKLR
  • Joseph Onyango Owuor & Cliff Ochieng Oduor v R
  • Paul Katana Njuguna v Republic
    (2016) eKLR
  • Republic v Kowkyk
    (1988) 2 SCR 59
  • R v Kipkering Arap Koske
    [1949] 16 EACA 135
  • Sawe v Rep
    [2003] KLR 364
  • Abanga alias Onyango v Republic
    Cr. Appeal No. 32 of 1990 (UR)
  • Abdalla Mwanza v R
    (2018) eKLR
  • Francis Karioko Muruatetu & Another v Republic; Katiba Institute & 5 others (Amicus Curiae)
    [2021] eKLR
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
not stated
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal on matters of law only)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Wanga & 4 others v Republic (Criminal Appeal 15 of 2020) [2023] KECA 296 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Criminal Appeal No. E017 of 2021 (consolidated second appeals). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2023/296/eng@2023-03-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.