Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment (second appeal from Malindi High Court Criminal Appeal No. 38 of 2017; trial in Malindi Chief Magistrate's Criminal Case No. 859 of 2016)

Owuor v Republic (Criminal Appeal 16 of 2019) [2022] KECA 18 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
21 January 2022
3,879 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal dismissed a robbery appeal, ruling that complaints about lack of legal representation cannot be raised for the first time on appeal.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a second appeal against conviction on five counts of robbery with violence contrary to Section 296(2) of the Penal Code and a sentence of 15 years imprisonment imposed by the High Court at Malindi (W. Korir, J.), which had upheld the trial magistrate's convictions but varied the death sentence. The appellant, unrepresented at trial and on first appeal, argued through counsel that his right to legal representation under Article 50(2)(g) and (h) of the Constitution was violated; that the doctrine of recent possession was wrongly applied because ownership of the stolen property was not proved; and that the 15-year sentence was excessive, imposed without a sentence hearing or pre-sentencing report. The respondent conceded at the hearing that the appellant should have been afforded legal representation and proposed a re-trial, which the appellant opposed. The Court confined itself to matters of law under Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code. Applying the Supreme Court's decisions in Republic v Karisa Chengo and Charles Maina Gitonga, it held that the legal representation ground could not be entertained because it was never raised in the courts below, and that in any event the appellant, who capably cross-examined witnesses and mounted a detailed defence, suffered no substantial injustice. The Court upheld the concurrent findings on recent possession, noting the property was positively identified and recovered from the appellant's sole possession about four hours after the robbery, and found all ingredients of robbery with violence proved. The Court declined to disturb the 15-year concurrent sentences, noting the High Court had applied the Muruatetu principles. The appeal was dismissed in its entirety.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the appellant's right to a fair trial under Article 50 (2) (g) and (h) of the Constitution was infringed by the failure of the trial court to inform him of his right to legal representation and to assign him an advocate at State expense
  2. 2.Whether the trial court and the first appellate court erred in applying the doctrine of recent possession and in convicting the appellant on the robbery with violence counts
  3. 3.Whether the sentence of 15 years imprisonment imposed by the High Court was manifestly excessive and harsh, and whether the omission of a sentence hearing vitiated the sentence

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether failure to inform an unrepresented capital accused of the right to legal representation at State expense vitiates the trial

Holding

The complaint failed because the point was raised for the first time on second appeal, and the record showed the appellant understood the charges, capably cross-examined witnesses and mounted a detailed defence, so no substantial injustice was demonstrated

Reasoning

The Court applied the Supreme Court's decision in Charles Maina Gitonga, which faulted the Court of Appeal for entertaining a legal representation ground never raised below. It examined the record and found the appellant keenly followed proceedings, cross-examined witnesses on salient points and gave a detailed defence, so he was not incapacitated by the absence of counsel. Given the severity of the death penalty the trial court ought to have informed him of his Article 50(2)(h) right, but the omission was not exploited at trial and caused no substantial injustice.

p. 7
02

Whether the doctrine of recent possession was properly applied and ownership of stolen property proved

Holding

Yes - the property was positively identified, stolen from the complainants hours earlier, and found in the appellant's sole possession, so the concurrent findings of the lower courts stood

Reasoning

The evidence of PW1 and PW8 established recovery of property positively identified as stolen from the complainants at Pine Court Hotel, with only the appellant present where the property was recovered and only about four hours elapsing between the robbery and the recovery. Ownership evidence was held sufficient. His defence did not dislodge the prosecution case, and the conclusion that he was one of the robbers was irresistible. On a second appeal, concurrent findings of fact are not disturbed absent evidence-based or principle-based error.

p. 7
03

Whether the ingredients of robbery with violence under Section 296(2) of the Penal Code were proved

Holding

Yes - evidence of several attackers, some armed with pangas and one with a gun, who threatened or applied violence, satisfied all the statutory ingredients

Reasoning

The victims confirmed several attackers participated in the robbery; some were armed with pangas and one had a gun, and violence was threatened or applied. This established the Oluoch v Republic ingredients - being in company, being armed with dangerous weapons and use or threat of personal violence. The convictions were accordingly safe and the Court declined to interfere with them.

p. 7
04

Whether the 15-year sentence was excessive and whether the absence of a sentence hearing and pre-sentencing report invalidated it

Holding

No - the High Court had already varied the mandatory death sentence in line with Muruatetu, and the Court found no basis to interfere with the 15-year concurrent terms

Reasoning

The High Court reduced the death sentence to 15 years on each count, running concurrently, applying the Supreme Court's Muruatetu principles. That occurred before the Supreme Court's 2021 Directions clarifying that Muruatetu was specific to the mandatory death sentence for murder, but the Court held the High Court could not be faulted. Arguments about life expectancy, remand time and the absence of a sentence hearing did not persuade the Court to disturb the sentence.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • On a second appeal, the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law unless the findings of fact below are based on no evidence or on wrong principles
  • An accused cannot raise the denial of the right to legal representation for the first time on appeal; the issue must have been raised in the courts below, and a failure to raise it there, coupled with active participation in the trial, defeats a claim of substantial injustice
  • Where an unrepresented accused faces a capital charge after the commencement of the Legal Aid Act, the trial court must consider the seriousness of the offence and severity of the sentence and inform the accused of the right to State-funded legal representation under Section 43 of the Legal Aid Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed in its entirety
  2. 2.Convictions on the five counts of robbery with violence upheld

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Malindi
Criminal Appeal No. 38 of 2017
Jurisdiction invoked
Second appeal to the Court of Appeal under Section 361 (1) (a) of the Criminal Procedure Code, confined to matters of law

Relief refused

#

Declaration that the trial was a nullity for denial of the right to legal representation, or a re-trial with legal representation

The issue of legal representation was never raised in the courts below, and the appellant demonstrated no substantial injustice as he actively and capably participated in his trial

p. 6

Quashing of convictions on the doctrine of recent possession grounds

Ownership, recent theft and possession of the stolen property were sufficiently proved; the concurrent findings of the two lower courts could not be faulted on a second appeal

p. 7

Reduction of the 15-year sentence or credit for time spent in remand

The High Court had already mitigated the mandatory death sentence in line with the Muruatetu jurisprudence, and the Court found no basis to interfere

p. 7

Costs

No costs order is recorded in the judgment

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The end result is that this appeal is dismissed in its entirety.
p. 7Disposition - appeal dismissed
The application of the doctrine of recent possession was correctly applied by the trial court and the High Court, and therefore we are unable to fault the concurrent findings.
p. 7Doctrine of recent possession - concurrent findings upheld
There is no evidence that the appellant was incapacitated in the trial for lack of legal representation.
p. 7Fair trial - no substantial injustice from lack of counsel
We thus fault the Court of Appeal for entertaining the question of legal representation as one of the grounds of appeal despite acknowledging that it was never raised in the Courts below. To allow the Appellant ignore the normal hierarchy of courts would amount to abuse of the process of Court.
p. 6Raising the legal representation issue for the first time on appeal (quoting the Supreme Court in Charles Maina Gitonga)
The ingredients of robbery with violence under Section 296 (2) of the Penal Code were met. In the circumstances, the convictions were safe and we have no reason to interfere with the same.
p. 7Ingredients of robbery with violence - convictions safe

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The supplementary grounds of appeal are dated 28th April 2012, which precedes the trial (commenced 28th November 2016) and the first appeal; the date appears to be an error in the judgment

minor

The judgment contains two consecutive paragraphs both numbered 35, and the paragraph numbering thereafter runs 34, 35, 35, 37, 38

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Owuor v Republic (Criminal Appeal 16 of 2019) [2022] KECA 18 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment (second appeal from Malindi High Court Criminal Appeal No. 38 of 2017; trial in Malindi Chief Magistrate's Criminal Case No. 859 of 2016). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2022/18/eng@2022-01-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.