Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in judgment· [2021] KECA 10 (KLR)

Kenindia Assurance Company Ltd v Josephat Waithaka Wangungu

Court of Appeal of Kenya
23 September 2021
4,262 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~17 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled an insurer must pay Kshs 3.94 million to an insured driver, finding an optional arbitration clause cannot block a court claim if never raised early.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal to the Court of Appeal at Nairobi against a High Court judgment awarding the respondent, the insured owner of motor-vehicle KAV 679V Mitsubishi Fuso, Kshs. 3,940,000 as indemnity under a comprehensive commercial vehicle insurance policy, after the appellant insurer failed to repair the accident-damaged vehicle or compensate him. The insurer, which called no evidence at trial, advanced five grounds on appeal: the trial judge ignored clauses 3 and 10 of the policy; the award was excessive because the vehicle had depreciated; the plaint disclosed no cause of action; the sum was unpleaded and unproved special damages; and the court lacked jurisdiction because clause 10 required arbitration. The Court framed three issues: arbitrability, whether the award was a special damages claim, and proof on a balance of probability. It held that clause 10 was permissive ('if referable to arbitration... if triable by a court of law'), giving parties an option, and that the insurer had waived the point by never pleading it, raising it as a preliminary objection, cross-examining on it, or seeking a stay pending arbitration; Dhanjal Investments was distinguished. It held the claim was one of indemnity, being the insured's stated value in the policy schedule, and was in any event pleaded and strictly proved. The respondent had proved his case with a police abstract, the policy, and a valuation report that went unchallenged, and the trial court had not shifted the burden of proof. The appeal was dismissed in its entirety with costs to the respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether clause 10 of the insurance policy obliged the parties to refer the dispute to arbitration and ousted the court's jurisdiction

Holding

The clause was permissive, not mandatory; it gave the parties an option to litigate or arbitrate. The appellant never pleaded the clause, raised a preliminary objection, cross-examined on it, or sought a stay pending arbitration, so the court had jurisdiction.

Reasoning

The Court read clause 10 and found the word 'if' differentiated options between arbitration and court. The appellant did not plead arbitration in its defence, raised no preliminary objection, and could have applied for a stay of suit pending arbitration but never did. Dhanjal Investments was distinguished because there an arbitration had actually been initiated and ignored, whereas here no arbitration process was started at all by either party.

p. 5
02

Whether the sum of Kshs. 3,940,000.00 was a special damages claim requiring strict proof

Holding

No - the claim was one of indemnity under the policy, being the insured's estimate of value in the policy schedule, which the insurer was bound to pay as the maximum amount payable; in any event it was specifically pleaded and strictly proved.

Reasoning

The policy was a contract of indemnity obliging the insurer to make good the loss. Because the appellant failed to repair the vehicle, the respondent was entitled to be indemnified by payment of the sum insured shown in the policy schedule. That amount was specifically pleaded at paragraph 9 of the plaint and supported by a valuation report, so it was strictly proved even if treated as special damages.

p. 6
03

Whether the respondent proved his case on a balance of probability and whether the trial court shifted the burden of proof

Holding

Yes - the respondent proved the policy, the accident, and the value of the vehicle; the appellant called no evidence in rebuttal and did not challenge the valuation, so its evidence stood uncontroverted. The trial court did not shift the burden of proof.

Reasoning

The respondent produced the policy, a police abstract, and an Automobile Association of Kenya valuation report showing the insured value of Kshs. 3,940,000. The appellant offered no rebuttal evidence and produced no alternative valuation, so it could not complain that liability was not limited to the depreciated market value. The trial court's remark that the appellant had not called evidence did not shift the burden of proof.

p. 7
04

Whether the plaint disclosed a cause of action

Holding

Yes - the plaint described the parties' relationship, the accident, and the insurer's failure to perform its obligations under the cover, establishing the appellant's fault and raising a cause of action known in law.

Reasoning

Applying the DT Dobie definition, the pleading needed only allegations with some chance of success. The respondent pleaded the comprehensive cover, the accident during the cover period, and the insurer's failure to repair or compensate him. The narrative established the appellant's fault and was sufficient to support the claim.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • An arbitration clause that gives parties an option either to go to arbitration or to court ('if referable to arbitration... if triable by a court of law') is not mandatory and does not oust the court's jurisdiction; a party who does not plead the clause, raise it as a preliminary objection, or apply for a stay pending arbitration cannot rely on it on appeal.
  • On a first appeal, the Court of Appeal's mandate is to re-assess and re-evaluate the evidence tendered in the trial court and draw its own conclusions.
  • A claim by an insured to be indemnified by payment of the sum insured under the policy schedule, following the insurer's failure to repair the insured vehicle, is a claim in indemnity rather than a claim for special damages.
  • Unchallenged or uncontroverted evidence may be acted upon where the opposing party called no evidence in rebuttal and did not challenge it in cross-examination.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed in its entirety
  2. 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the respondent
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the appellate jurisdiction of the Court (the judgment identifies it as a first appeal from the High Court; no specific provision is cited)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenindia Assurance Company Ltd v Josephat Waithaka Wangungu", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2021/10/eng@2021-09-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.