Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCivil Appeal No 34 of 2018· [2019] KECA 711 (KLR)

Pioneer Holdings (Africa) Ltd v Francis Thuo and Partners Ltd & 2 others (Civil Appeal 34 of 2018) [2019] KECA 711 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
24 May 2019
6,169 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~25 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that stockbroking claims for undelivered shares expire after six years, and fiduciary-duty language cannot extend that deadline.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This Court of Appeal judgment, delivered at Nairobi on 24 May 2019 by Okwengu, Musinga and Gatembu Kairu, JJA, dismisses Pioneer Holdings' appeal against a High Court ruling (Olga Sewe, J., 29 September 2017) striking out its suit against its former stockbroker, the Nairobi Securities Exchange and the Capital Markets Authority. Pioneer claimed about Kshs 95 million for undelivered shares and unpaid dividends arising from transactions in 1993 and 1994, pleading breach of contractual, statutory and fiduciary duties. The High Court struck out the suit as time barred and on the ground that Pioneer should first have exhausted the dispute resolution mechanism under the Capital Markets Act. On the first appeal, the Court affirmed that the relationship was one of principal and agent under contract; pleading breach of fiduciary duty does not make the suit 'an action by a beneficiary under a trust' under section 20 of the Limitation of Actions Act, and the High Court decision in Deposit Protection Fund Board v Ajay Shah relied on by Pioneer had been reversed. Applying section 4(1)(e), a six-year limitation for equitable claims, the suit filed in 2014 over 1993/1994 breaches was statute barred. On exhaustion, the Court upheld the Judge's reliance on Speaker of the National Assembly v Karume and Vania Investments, holding the Investor Compensation Fund mechanism was Pioneer's first port of call, though it noted the Judge erred in not considering regulation 70(1)'s Kshs 50,000 compensation cap and the efficacy of the remedy. As limitation was dispositive, the appeal was dismissed with costs to the respondents.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the claim was barred by limitation despite being pleaded as breach of fiduciary duties and trust

Holding

Yes. The relationship between Pioneer and the stockbroker was one of principal and agent under a contract; pleading breach of fiduciary duties does not convert the action into 'an action by a beneficiary under a trust' exempt from limitation under section 20. Section 4(1)(e) provides a six-year limitation for actions claiming equitable relief; the breaches occurred in 1993 and 1994 and the suit was filed in 2014.

Reasoning

The plaint showed a contractual principal-agent relationship; a stockbroker is defined in the Capital Markets Act as an agent for investors. Although agents owe fiduciary duties, those duties do not by themselves make the action one by a beneficiary under a trust. The Deposit Protection Fund Board v Ajay Shah decision, on which Pioneer relied, was reversed by this Court, which held limitation applies notwithstanding trust or fiduciary relationships.

p. 9
02

Whether Pioneer was required to exhaust the dispute resolution mechanism under the Capital Markets Act before filing suit

Holding

Yes in principle: regulation 69 provides that an investor suffering uncompensated pecuniary loss shall apply to the Authority for compensation from the Compensation Fund, and this was Pioneer's first port of call. However, the Judge erred in not considering regulation 70(1), capping net loss compensation at Kshs 50,000, and the question of the remedy's efficacy.

Reasoning

The authorities establish that a clear statutory procedure for redress must be strictly followed. The Judge correctly held that the Capital Markets Act mechanism should have been pursued to conclusion before invoking the High Court's jurisdiction under Article 165(3). But the Judge overlooked regulation 70(1)'s Kshs 50,000 cap and the efficacy complaint, which might have led to a different conclusion on that limb.

p. 11
03

Whether an appellate court may interfere with the discretionary striking out of a suit

Holding

Only where the judge misdirected herself in law, misapprehended the facts, considered extraneous considerations, failed to consider relevant considerations, or the decision is plainly wrong (Mbogo v Shah).

Reasoning

An application to strike out a pleading calls for the exercise of judicial discretion. The settled appellate standard from Mbogo & another v Shah applies. No such error sufficient to displace the outcome on limitation was demonstrated.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • Where there is a clear procedure for the redress of any particular grievance prescribed by the Constitution or an Act of Parliament, that procedure should be strictly followed before invoking the High Court's jurisdiction
  • Limitation of actions applies notwithstanding a relationship of trust or fiduciary relationship between the parties; pleading breach of fiduciary duty does not automatically bring an action within section 20 of the Limitation of Actions Act
  • Actions, including actions claiming equitable relief, for which no period of limitation is provided, may not be brought after the end of six years from the date the cause of action accrued under section 4(1)(e) of the Limitation of Actions Act
  • An appellate court will not interfere with the exercise of judicial discretion unless the judge misdirected herself in law, misapprehended the facts, considered extraneous matters, failed to consider relevant considerations, or the decision is plainly wrong

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed with costs to the respondents

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions Actsection 4
  • Limitation of Actions Actsection 4(1)(e)
  • Limitation of Actions Actsection 20
  • Limitation of Actions Actsection 39
  • Capital Markets Actsection 2
  • Capital Markets Actsection 5
  • Capital Markets Actsection 11
  • Capital Markets Actsection 18
  • Capital Markets Actsection 25
  • Capital Markets Actsection 33A(2)
  • Capital Markets Actsection 33A(8)
  • Capital Markets Actsection 35
  • Capital Markets Actsection 35(1)(g)
  • Capital Markets Actsection 35A
  • Capital Markets (Licensing Requirements) General Regulationsregulation 69
  • Capital Markets (Licensing Requirements) General Regulationsregulation 70(1)
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 165(3)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 2 rule 15(1)(b)(d)
  • Limitation Act 1980 (England)section 21(1)(b)

Cases cited (20)

  • Deposit Protection Fund Board vs Ajay Shah & another, HCCC No 294 of 2010
  • Flitcroft's Case
    [1882] XXI Ch D 519
  • Gatune v The Headmaster, Nairobi Technical High School & another
    [1988] KLR 561
  • DT Dobie & Company (Kenya) Ltd v Muchina
    [1982] KLR 1
  • D. T. Dobie & Company (Kenya) Limited vs Joseph Mbaria Muchina & another
    [1980] eKLR
  • James Kuria vs Attorney General & 3 others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Abdikadir Suleiman vs County Government of Isiolo & another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Speaker of the National Assembly vs James Njenga Karume
    [1992] eKLR
  • Mutanga Tea & Coffee Company Ltd vs Shikara Limited & another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Owners of the Motor Vessel "Lillian S" vs Caltex Oil (Kenya) Ltd
    [1989] KLR 1
  • Vania Investments Pool Limited vs Capital Markets Authority, Misc. Application No. 139 of 2014
  • Vania Investments Pool Limited vs Capital Markets Authority
    Civil Appeal No. 92 of 2014
  • Vania Investments Pool Limited vs Capital Markets Authority & 8 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Mbogo & another vs Shah
    [1968] E.A. 93
  • Secretary, County Public Service Board & another vs Hulbhai Gedi Abdille
    [2017] eKLR
  • Republic vs National Environment Management Authority Ex Parte Sound Equipment Ltd
    [2011] eKLR
  • Ajay Shah vs Deposit Protection Fund Board as liquidator of Trust Bank Ltd (in liquidation)
    [2016] eKLR
  • Kelly vs Cooper
    [1993] AC 205
  • Clark Boyce vs Mouat
    [1994] 1 AC 428
  • Liverpool City Council vs Irwin
    [1977] AC 239
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over the High Court under the Constitution (specific article not stated in the judgment); appeal from a ruling striking out the appellant's suit

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Pioneer Holdings (Africa) Ltd v Francis Thuo and Partners Ltd & 2 others (Civil Appeal 34 of 2018) [2019] KECA 711 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Civil Appeal No 34 of 2018. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2019/711/eng@2019-05-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.