Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCivil Appeal No 92 of 2017· [2019] KECA 81 (KLR)

ERNST & Young LLP v Capital Markets Authority & another (Civil Appeal 92 of 2017) [2019] KECA 81 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
6 December 2019
3,792 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal refused Stanbic's bid to add new evidence in its appeal against the Capital Markets Authority, ruling post-judgment documents would make a fresh case.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a single judgment of a three-judge bench of the Court of Appeal at Nairobi (Nambuye, Karanja and Asike-Makhandia, JJAA) dated 6 December 2019, determining an interlocutory notice of motion dated 4 July 2019 brought under rule 29(1)(b) of the Court of Appeal Rules seeking to introduce additional evidence by affidavit in a pending appeal. The appeal challenges the dismissal, by Mativo, J. on 7 March 2017, of Nairobi Constitutional Petition No. 385 of 2016, in which the appellant alleged that the Capital Markets Authority had infringed its rights by issuing a Notice to Show Cause over its audit work on Uchumi Supermarkets Ltd while acting as 'investigator, prosecutor and hangman'. The Court identified a single issue: whether the application met the threshold for adducing additional evidence. It applied the Ladd v Marshall principles adopted in Wanje v A.K. Saikwa, the Supreme Court's guidelines in Mohamed Abdi Mahamud, and its own decisions in Republic v Ali Babitu Kololo and Kibos Sugar, reiterating that the power must be exercised sparingly. It held the proposed evidence (the 23 October 2017 administrative hearing proceedings, the Kenol Kobil delegation material, and the Gitahi unfair-termination judgment) did not exist when the petition was heard, would constitute a fresh case on appeal, was prejudicial, and that the alleged bias lacked any factual foundation. Non-delegation under section 11A of the Capital Markets Authority Act was not evidence of bias, delegation being discretionary and in any event effected under section 14. The application was dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent. The decision below was not disturbed, as the appeal itself remains pending.

Key legal issues

#
01

Threshold for admission of additional evidence under rule 29(1)(b)

Holding

The Ladd v Marshall principles as adopted in Wanje v A.K. Saikwa and the Mohamed Abdi Mahamud guidelines apply: evidence must be unobtainable with reasonable diligence, influential on the result, credible, and not a means of making a fresh case or filling gaps.

Reasoning

The court reviewed its own precedent in Wanje v Saikwa, Republic v Ali Babitu Kololo, the Supreme Court's decision in Mohamed Abdi Mahamud, and the English authority in The National Guild of Removers & Storers, distilling that the discretionary power must be exercised sparingly and with great caution, balancing the overriding objective of doing justice against finality of litigation.

p. 4
02

Whether post-judgment documents can be admitted as additional evidence

Holding

Documents that came into existence after the High Court judgment, and which were therefore never before the trial court, cannot ordinarily be admitted because they would make a fresh case on appeal and prejudice the respondent.

Reasoning

The proposed evidence related to an administrative hearing on 23 October 2017 and events up to May 2019, all after the 7 March 2017 judgment. The court held it should be wary of determining matters never placed before the High Court and that the respondent would have no occasion to counter such evidence.

p. 6
03

Whether non-delegation under section 11A of the Capital Markets Act evidences bias

Holding

Non-delegation under section 11A does not demonstrate bias; the CMA may discharge dual mandates and delegation is discretionary, with residual powers retained under section 11A(3); in any event the delegation here was under section 14.

Reasoning

The court, relying on its own decision in Capital Markets Authority v Alnashir Popat, held the Authority may lawfully combine investigative and adjudicative roles; section 11A confers discretionary, not mandatory, delegation powers, so the proposed Kenol Kobil material was irrelevant to the legal question in the appeal.

p. 6
04

Whether the alleged involvement of Mr. Reuben Boro Gitahi established bias

Holding

No foundation was laid for the belief that Gitahi participated in the show cause proceedings; the allegation was incredible, and the proposed unfair-termination judgment would not influence the appeal.

Reasoning

Gitahi was employed by the 1st respondent with effect from 1 August 2017, after the show cause proceedings had commenced, and there was no evidence he was involved in the investigations or proceedings; mere belief without evidentiary foundation cannot sustain an allegation of bias.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • On an appeal from a superior court exercising original jurisdiction, the Court of Appeal may, in its discretion and for sufficient reason, take additional evidence or direct that it be taken by the trial court or a commissioner.
  • Post-judgment matters may only found admission of additional evidence in exceptional circumstances.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application for admission of additional evidence is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the respondents

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenyaarticle 47
  • Court of Appeal Rulesrule 29(1)(a),(b),(2); rule 3A (inherent power invoked by counsel)
  • Capital Markets Authority Actsection 11A (including 11A(3)); section 14
  • Fair Administrative Action ActNot specified

Cases cited (9)

  • Kibos Sugar & Allied Industries Limited & Another v Benson Ambuti Adega & 6 others
    Civil Appeal (Application) No. 153 of 2019 (unreported)
  • The National Guild of Removers & Storers Limited v Bee Moved Limited & Others
    (2018) EWCA Civ. 1302
  • Wanje v A.K. Saikwa
    [1984] eKLR
  • Ladd v Marshall
    [1954] 1 WLR 1489 at 1491
  • Republic v Ali Babitu Kololo
    (2017) eKLR
  • Hon. Mohamed Abdi Mahamud v Ahmed Abdullahi Mohamad & 3 others
    Sup. Petition No. 7 of 2018
  • Dick v Koinange
    [1973] E.A 355
  • Kenya Oil Company Limited v Kobil Petroleum Limited
    Not stated (referred to as insider trading matter)
  • Capital Markets Authority v Alnashir Popat and others
    Civil Appeal No. 35 of 2017
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Nairobi Constitutional Petition No. 385 of 2016
Jurisdiction invoked
Rule 29(1)(b) of the Court of Appeal Rules (interlocutory application in a pending appeal)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "ERNST & Young LLP v Capital Markets Authority & another (Civil Appeal 92 of 2017) [2019] KECA 81 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Civil Appeal No 92 of 2017. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2019/81/eng@2019-12-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.