Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCivil Appeal 75 of 2004 (consolidated with Civil Appeal 80 of 2004 as cross appeal)

BENJAMIN ONKOBA NYAACHI & another v VICTORIA INSURANCE BROKERS [2010] KECA 454 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
5 February 2010
2,149 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed an insurance broker can recover unpaid premiums from a client who kept insurance cover without paying for it.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal from the judgment and decree of Wambilyangah, J in H.C.C.C. No. 20 of 1998 at Kisii, in which the High Court awarded Victoria Insurance Brokers Ksh.1,123,159.80 against the appellants, who traded as Kemera General Stores, for unpaid insurance premiums on six motor vehicles. The two cross-appeals filed by the parties (Civil Appeals 75 and 80 of 2004) were consolidated by consent, the latter being treated as a cross appeal. The appellants argued that dishonoured cheques had been replaced by cash, that some cheques were never presented, and that the broker, being their agent, could not claim the premiums. The respondent maintained the claim was for services rendered, supported by 39 documents including signed undertakings, and sought the 5% monthly statutory penalty in its cross appeal. The Court, citing Viran v Phoenix of East Africa Assurance, reiterated its duty on a first appeal to re-evaluate the evidence. It found documentary evidence of signed proposal and confirmation forms and that the appellants used the certificates for twelve months with no proof of premium payment. The Court held that although the broker is the agent of the insured, no law prevents an agent from recovering amounts unjustly retained by the insured, and the refusal to pay amounted to unjust enrichment. The cross appeal for the 5% penalty failed for want of proof of payment or demand by the Commissioner of Insurance. Both the appeal and the cross appeal were dismissed, each with costs against its proponent.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the trial judge erred in rejecting the appellants' defence that dishonoured cheques were replaced by cash payments
  2. 2.Whether the claim was based on unpaid premiums for services rendered through the brokerage of the respondent
  3. 3.Whether a broker, being the agent of the insured, can recover unpaid premiums from the insured as unjust enrichment
  4. 4.Whether the 5% penalty per month under the Insurance Act was payable by the respondent broker to the appellants (cross appeal)

Key legal issues

#
01

Duty of a first appellate court

Holding

The Court is obliged to re-evaluate the evidence afresh while allowing for the trial judge's advantage of observing the witnesses.

Reasoning

The Court cited Viran t/a Kisumu Beach Resort v Phoenix of East Africa Assurance Co. Ltd for the settled principle that a first appeal is a rehearing on the evidence. The Court then conducted its own evaluation of the documentary evidence - proposal forms, hirer's confirmation forms and insurance certificates - rather than deferring to the trial judge's findings.

p. 3
02

Entitlement of a broker to recover unpaid premiums from the insured

Holding

The broker, though agent of the insured, may recover from the insured premiums it incurred on the insured's behalf; the insured cannot retain the benefit of issued certificates without payment.

Reasoning

The appellants received and used the insurance certificates for the full 12-month period and did not deny receiving the services. The fact that the policies were never cancelled indicated the insurers had been paid or satisfactory arrangements made by the brokers. Refusing to pay for services received would amount to unjust enrichment notwithstanding the agency relationship.

p. 4
03

5% penalty under the Insurance Act (cross appeal)

Holding

The respondent was not entitled to the 5% penalty because there was no proof it had paid the penalty or been demanded to pay it by the Commissioner of Insurance.

Reasoning

The cross appeal sought the statutory 5% monthly penalty of over Ksh.3,000,000. The Court found the claim unsupported by evidence: no payment of the penalty by the respondent was proved and no demand by the Commissioner of Insurance was shown, so the High Court's refusal to award it was upheld.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • On a first appeal the appellate court must reconsider and re-evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions, giving allowance for the trial judge's advantage of seeing and hearing the witnesses.
  • A broker remains the agent of the insured and may recover from the insured amounts the broker has incurred on the insured's behalf; retention of such benefit by the insured is unjust enrichment.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs to the respondent
  2. 2.The cross appeal is dismissed with costs to the appellant

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Kisii
H.C.C.C. No. 20 of 1998
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over appeals from the High Court under the Appellate Jurisdiction Act (Court of Appeal at Kisumu, Civil Appeal 75 of 2004)
Consolidated with
Civil Appeal 80 of 2004

Relief refused

#

Appellants' appeal against the High Court award of Ksh.1,123,159.80

Documentary evidence (proposal forms, signed confirmation forms, certificates) supported the claim; no proof of payment of premiums

p. 3

Cross appeal for the 5% monthly penalty

No proof that the respondent paid the penalty or that a demand was made by the Commissioner of Insurance

p. 4

Costs

Appeal dismissed with costs to the respondent; cross appeal dismissed with costs to the appellant.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

In the result we dismiss the appeal with costs to the respondent and further dismiss the cross appeal also with costs to the appellant.
p. 4Disposition
In law the respondent broker company remains the agent of the insured appellants. There is no law which prevents an agent from recovering anything unjustly retained by an insured where the broker has incurred such an expense on behalf of an insured.
p. 4Broker's right of recovery / unjust enrichment
This being the first appeal this Court is under a duty to reconsider and re-evaluate the evidence on record and draw its own conclusions always bearing in mind, and giving due allowance for it, that the trial Judge had the advantage of seeing and hearing the witnesses testify before him.
p. 3First appeal duty
The fact that the policies were never cancelled during the twelve months period did indicate that the insurer company had in turn received payment from the brokers or that the brokers had made satisfactory arrangements on behalf of the appellants during that period.
p. 4Inference from non-cancellation of policies

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Discrepancy in the decretal amount between the narrative of the claim and the judgment figure

minor

The judgment refers to the consolidated cross appeal but also states the appellant company be regarded as respondent in Civil Appeal No. 80 of 2004, using 'appellant company' imprecisely

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "BENJAMIN ONKOBA NYAACHI & another v VICTORIA INSURANCE BROKERS [2010] KECA 454 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2010). Civil Appeal 75 of 2004 (consolidated with Civil Appeal 80 of 2004 as cross appeal). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2010/454/eng@2010-02-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.