Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCivil Appeal No. 246 & 263 of 2002· [2008] KECA 50 (KLR)

First Assurance Company Limited v Seascapes Limited [2008] KECA 50 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
21 November 2008
3,903 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal threw out a Kshs.45 million fire insurance claim because the policyholder never paid the premium, confirming no payment means no cover.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Court of Appeal (Bosire, Githinji and Aluoch JJA) heard two consolidated appeals by First Assurance Company Limited against Seascapes Limited. Civil Appeal No. 263 of 2002 challenged the High Court (Kasanga Mulwa J) judgment of 21st August 2001 awarding Seascapes the insured sum for fire loss to its resort property; Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002 challenged the subsequent recall of that judgment to add interest under section 99 of the Civil Procedure Act. The insurer contended that no valid contract of insurance existed because the respondent never paid the premium, which was a condition precedent to liability. The Court of Appeal held that a trial judge is not bound to determine every issue agreed by the parties and may strike out wrongly framed issues under Order XIV of the Civil Procedure Rules. On the merits, it found no concluded agreement on payment terms, no acceptance of the cover by the respondent, and no estoppel or waiver: the respondent made no payment until after the fire, when the insurer was entitled to reject it. Section 77 of the Insurance Act could not override section 156 in the absence of clear agreement or conduct showing premium was not a condition precedent. The Court allowed Civil Appeal No. 263 of 2002, set aside the High Court judgment, substituted an order dismissing the respondent's suit, and held that Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002 succeeded as a consequence. The appellant received costs of the suit and of both appeals.

Key legal issues

#
01

Reduction of agreed issues by the trial court

Holding

The trial Judge was entitled to confine himself to four broad issues; the court has power under Order XIV to frame or strike out issues at any time before decree.

Reasoning

Agreed issues exist to identify the matters in controversy and guide the calling of evidence. If, at the close of the hearing, the judge is satisfied some issues are unnecessary, he is not precluded from saying so. Order XIV rule 1(5) places the burden on the court to ascertain the material propositions of fact or law in variance, rule 3 empowers framing issues from pleadings or documents, and rule 5(2) permits striking out wrongly framed issues before decree. The complaint therefore lacked merit.

p. 2
02

Existence of a valid contract of insurance without payment of premium

Holding

No valid insurance contract existed: the respondent never paid any premium, made no payment before the fire, and its conduct showed it did not accept the cover issued.

Reasoning

The arrangement was verbal, no proposal form was completed, and although the insurer's agent's account was debited, no remittance followed; the agent itself demanded premium from the respondent. The respondent made a cheque only after the fire, eleven months into a twelve-month cover, which the insurer was entitled to reject. Absent any step accepting the cover, or an agreement to pay by instalments, no concluded contract arose, so the insurer had no liability for the fire loss.

p. 6
03

Estoppel and waiver against the insurer

Holding

Neither estoppel nor waiver was established; the representation in the two letters was not acted upon to the respondent's detriment.

Reasoning

An estoppel requires a representation acted upon to detriment and can only be a defence. The respondent made no payment despite demand by the agent, which is prima facie evidence the representation was not acted upon. Waiver requires evidence that the respondent had expressly agreed to pay, which is absent, so section 77 of the Insurance Act could not be invoked to override section 156. The trial Judge erred in holding an estoppel had been raised against the appellant.

p. 5
04

Recall of judgment to award interest (Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002)

Holding

Since the main appeal succeeded, the appeal against the order recalling the judgment to award interest also succeeded.

Reasoning

Mulwa J. had delivered judgment without interest, then on 9th May 2002 recalled it as an accidental slip under section 99 of the Civil Procedure Act and awarded interest at 15% and 18%. The appellant argued costs and interest are discretionary matters to be exercised at judgment, after which the court becomes functus officio. The Court of Appeal did not decide this question on its merits; it held that because Civil Appeal No. 263 of 2002 succeeded, Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002 succeeds as well.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • A trial judge is not bound to determine each and every issue agreed by the parties; the court may strike out wrongly framed issues at any time before decree under Order XIV rule 5(2) of the Civil Procedure Rules.
  • An estoppel requires a representation acted upon by the opposite party to its detriment; it cannot found a cause of action and may only be used as a defence.
  • Section 77 of the Insurance Act can only displace section 156 where the parties clearly agreed, or by their conduct it can be inferred, that payment of premium was not a condition precedent to liability.
  • There can be no waiver of premium as a condition precedent unless there is evidence that the opposite side had expressly agreed to make payment.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Civil Appeal No. 263 of 2002 allowed
  2. 2.The order of the superior court dated 21st August 2001 set aside and substituted with an order dismissing the respondent's suit
  3. 3.The appellant awarded costs of the suit in the superior court
  4. 4.The appellant awarded costs of Civil Appeal No. 263 of 2002 and Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002
  5. 5.Civil Appeal No. 246 of 2002 succeeds
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
H.C.C.C. No. 46 of 1999
Jurisdiction invoked
Appellate jurisdiction of the Court of Appeal over the judgment and decree of the High Court (Civil Appeal No. 246 & 263 of 2002)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "First Assurance Company Limited v Seascapes Limited [2008] KECA 50 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2008). Civil Appeal No. 246 & 263 of 2002. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2008/50/eng@2008-11-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.