Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCivil Appeal No. 61 of 2000· [2000] KECA 288 (KLR)

Trust Bank Limited v Kiran Ramji Kotedia [2000] KECA 288 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
8 December 2000
3,934 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A bank cannot sell charged property unless it proves the owner received the required legal notice; the wrong postal method cost Trust Bank its appeal.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
Trust Bank Limited appealed against the ruling of Kasanga Mulwa J delivered on 3rd December 1999 in H.C.C.C. No. 1319 of 1999, by which the High Court confirmed an interlocutory injunction restraining the bank from selling Kiran Ramji Kotedia's property, L.R. No. 1870/111/443, Nairobi, charged on 27th May 1998 to secure Shs.15 million advanced to Tamana Travel and Tours Limited, of which Kotedia was a director. After demand through its advocate, Anuj Desai, the bank instructed auctioneers, who fixed the sale for 20th September 1999. Kotedia sued three days before the intended sale, alleging that no statutory notice had been served, that the notification of sale breached the Auctioneers Rules and that excessive interest had been imposed; Mbaluto J granted an ex parte injunction on 17th September 1999, conditioned on an undertaking as to damages. The Court of Appeal (Omolo, Bosire and O'Kubasu JJ.A) held, first, that a party who obtains an ex parte injunction on one basis cannot rely on a different basis at the inter-partes hearing, so the bank's alleged failure to advance any monies was not open. Secondly, the letter of 17th February 1999 was a valid statutory notice in form, giving three months as required by section 69A(1)(a) of the Transfer of Property Act. Thirdly, because it was sent under certificate of posting rather than by registered post under section 102(2)(d), the burden of proving actual receipt shifted to the bank, which called no evidence; the power of sale had therefore prima facie not accrued. The bank could not invoke section 69A(1)(b). The appeal was dismissed with costs to the respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a party who obtained an ex parte injunction on stated grounds may urge different grounds at the inter-partes hearing.

Holding

No. Only the grounds on which the ex parte injunction was granted by Mbaluto J could be urged before Mulwa J; the allegation that no monies were advanced, first raised in the amended plaint, was not open to the respondent.

Reasoning

The ex parte injunction was granted on 17th September 1999 on the grounds pleaded in the plaint of 16th September 1999, chiefly failure to serve a statutory notice. The amended plaint's averment that no monies were ever advanced was a new and different case. Relying on Kwach JA in the Uhuru Highway case, the Court held that a plaintiff may not support an injunction by showing another state of circumstances, so that issue was not open before Mulwa J.

p. 4
02

Whether the letter of 17th February 1999 was a valid statutory notice under section 69A(1)(a) of the Transfer of Property Act.

Holding

Yes, in form. It specified the sum demanded and warned that the property would be sold if it remained unpaid three months after service, exactly matching the mandatory three-month notice requirement.

Reasoning

Following Trust Bank Ltd v Eros Chemist Ltd, a statutory right of sale under section 69A(1)(a) TPA arises only after three months' notice, the length requirement being positive and obligatory. The letter of 17th February 1999 specified the amount due and gave three months from service before sale, unlike the fourteen-day notice condemned in Eros Chemist. The Court therefore held the notice valid in form, though its service remained in issue.

p. 6
03

Whether the statutory notice was served and on whom the burden of proving service lay where the notice was sent under certificate of posting.

Holding

The burden shifted to the appellant to prove actual receipt; it called no evidence, the respondent denied receipt, and the statutory power of sale had therefore prima facie not accrued.

Reasoning

Section 102(2) TPA prescribes four modes of service; service by registered post is deemed effected if the letter is not returned undelivered. The bank sent the notice under certificate of posting instead. By modifying the prescribed procedure it assumed the burden of proving actual receipt, but called no evidence, even from the post office, while the respondent denied receipt and said he first learned of the sale from the auctioneer on 1st September 1999.

p. 6
04

Whether the appellant could sell without notice under section 69A(1)(b) TPA because interest was in arrears and unpaid.

Holding

No. The appellant had elected to proceed by the three months' notice route and was clearly not exercising its power of sale under the unpaid-interest limb.

Reasoning

The Court agreed with James Ombere Ockotch that no three months' notice is required where interest is in arrears and unpaid for more than two months under section 69A(1)(b) TPA. On the facts, however, the bank's elaborate notice of 17th February 1999, giving three months to repay, showed it was proceeding under the notice route; had it been selling for unpaid interest alone, that notice would have been unnecessary.

p. 7
05

Whether the learned judge could make conclusive and definitive findings on an interlocutory application for injunction.

Holding

Such findings were unnecessary and uncalled for and cannot bind even the judge himself at the trial of the substantive suit.

Reasoning

Mulwa J had made conclusive and definitive findings on the interlocutory application, which the Court said might embarrass the judge eventually hearing the substantive suit. Such findings were declared unnecessary and incapable of binding even the judge himself at the trial. The Court nonetheless dismissed the appeal, as the injunction was otherwise properly granted, making this guidance persuasive rather than decisive of the outcome.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • A party who obtains an ex parte injunction on one basis cannot rely on a different basis when the application comes up for hearing inter partes.
  • A notice under section 69A(1)(a) of the Transfer of Property Act must state the sum demanded and warn that the charged property will be sold if it is not paid within three months of service.
  • Where a chargee departs from the prescribed mode of service (registered post under section 102(2)(d) of the Transfer of Property Act) and adopts another method such as certificate of posting, the burden shifts to the chargee to prove the chargor actually received the notice; until a valid notice is proved served, the statutory power of sale has not accrued.
  • A mortgagee who has elected to proceed by statutory notice cannot at the point of enforcement resile from that route and claim an entitlement to sell without notice under section 69A(1)(b) for unpaid interest.
  • A judge should not make conclusive and definitive findings on an interlocutory injunction application; such findings do not bind even the same judge at the trial of the substantive suit.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed.
  2. 2.The appellant to pay the costs of the appeal to the respondent.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Transfer of Property ActSection 69(1)
  • Transfer of Property ActSection 69A(1)(a)
  • Transfer of Property ActSection 69A(1)(b)
  • Transfer of Property ActSection 102(2)
  • Registration of Titles ActCap 281
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 39 Rules 1, 2, 3 & 4
  • Auctioneers RulesNot specified (referred to in the plaint)

Cases cited (3)

  • UHURU HIGHWAY DEVELOPMENT LTD V CENTRAL BANK OF KENYA & 2 OTHERS
    Civil Application No. NAI 140 of 1995 (65/95 UR), (unreported)
  • TRUST BANK LTD V EROS CHEMIST LTD & ANOTHER
    Civil Appeal No. 133 of 1999 (unreported)
  • JAMES OMBERE OCKOTCH V EAST AFRICAN BUILDING SOCIETY & 2 OTHERS
    Civil Appeal No. 205 of 1996 (unreported)
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
H.C.C.C. No. 1319 of 1999
Jurisdiction invoked
Not stated in the judgment; the appeal is from an order and ruling of the High Court of Kenya at Nairobi to the Court of Appeal, but the judgment cites no constitutional or statutory provision as the source of appellate jurisdiction.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (8)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Trust Bank Limited v Kiran Ramji Kotedia [2000] KECA 288 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2000). Civil Appeal No. 61 of 2000. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2000/288/eng@2000-12-08

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.