Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCivil Appeal No. 151 of 1995· [1996] KECA 70 (KLR)

Corporate Insurance Company v Loise Wanjiru Wachira [1996] KECA 70 (KLR)

Court of Appeal
5 January 1996
2,339 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal threw out a Shs.1.2 million insurance award because the driver wasn't authorised under the policy and the insurer had waited too long to invoke arbitration.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Court of Appeal at Nairobi (Gicheru, Kwach and Shah, JJA) allowed an appeal by Corporate Insurance Company against a High Court judgment (Tunoi J, Nyeri) awarding the respondent, as legal representative of the deceased original plaintiff, Shs.124,938/- (repair charges and loss of user) plus Shs.1,080,000/- general damages under a comprehensive motor insurance policy. The vehicle had been crashed by an apprentice welder at a garage who drove it on a road test without authority and without a driving licence. The court first held that although the policy contained a Scott v Avery arbitration clause, the insurer, having entered appearance and filed a defence without applying for a stay of proceedings under section 6 of the Arbitration Act (Cap 49), lost its right to rely on the clause; the trial judge was right to overrule the preliminary objection. On liability, the court held that Section IV of the policy, covering vehicles in a motor trader's custody, did not avail the respondent because the driver was not an authorised driver, so the risk was not covered; the repair charges award was set aside. The loss of user award was erroneous as the policy made no provision for it and the insurer was not the tort-feasor. The Shs.1,080,000/- award failed as excluded consequential loss and as unpleaded, unproved special damages. The appeal was allowed, the High Court judgment set aside, and the plaintiff's suit dismissed with no order as to costs, and no order for costs in the appeal given the plaintiff's death.

Key legal issues

#
01

Effect of failing to apply for a stay under section 6 of the Arbitration Act before delivering a defence

Holding

The right to rely on an arbitration clause is lost once a party delivers a defence without applying for a stay; the clause cannot then be raised as a preliminary objection or defence at trial

Reasoning

Section 6(1)(a) of the Arbitration Act permits a stay application only after appearance and before delivering any pleadings or taking other steps. The appellant entered appearance and filed a defence raising the arbitration clause, but made no stay application for over four years. While a Scott v Avery clause can found a substantive defence, the court held a party cannot circumvent the statutory stay requirement, and by filing a defence the appellant lost its right to rely on the clause.

p. 3
02

Insurer's liability for damage caused by an unauthorised driver while the vehicle was in a motor trader's custody

Holding

Section IV of the policy did not cover the risk because the driver was not an authorised driver; the award of repair charges was set aside

Reasoning

Although Section IV of the policy kept the indemnity operative while the vehicle was in the custody of a motor trader for repair, notwithstanding General Exception 1(b), the court held the appellant could not be liable because Kinyua was not an authorised driver. The motor trader disowned Kinyua's act of driving, and the risk of an unauthorised driver was not covered by the policy.

p. 4
03

Award of Shs.1,080,000/- general damages for loss of business

Holding

The award could not stand: it was consequential loss expressly excluded by the policy, and the claim was one for special damages neither pleaded nor strictly proved

Reasoning

The trial judge awarded Shs.1,080,000/- as direct consequential loss arising from the insurer's delay in settling the claim. The Court of Appeal held this was compensation for consequential loss expressly excluded under the policy's exceptions, and that the claim was in substance one for special damages which must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved, requirements the claim did not satisfy.

p. 4
04

Award of Shs.60,000/- for loss of user

Holding

The award was erroneous: the policy made no provision for loss of user and the appellant was not the tort-feasor

Reasoning

The court found no provision in the policy covering loss of user, and observed that the appellant was not the tort-feasor nor the employer of the person who caused the damage; such a claim would lie against the garage owner. It also noted that insurance claims take time to investigate and imposing settlement time limits would be unreasonable and an intolerable burden on insurers.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A party relying on a Scott v Avery arbitration clause must apply for a stay of proceedings after entering appearance and before delivering any pleading; by filing a defence the party loses the right to rely on the clause
  • An insurer is not liable under a motor trader's custody clause where the vehicle was driven by a person who was not an authorised driver within the meaning of the policy
  • General damages cannot be awarded for consequential loss expressly excluded by the policy, and a claim in the nature of special damages must be pleaded and strictly proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Set aside the award of Shs.60,000/- in respect of loss of user
  2. 2.Set aside the award of Shs.64,938/- in respect of repair charges
  3. 3.Set aside the award of Shs.1,080,000/- as general damages for loss of business
  4. 4.Set aside the judgment and decree of the High Court and substitute therefor an order dismissing the plaintiff's suit with no order as to costs
  5. 5.Make no order for costs in the appeal

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Arbitration Act (Cap 49)section 6(1)(a)
  • Arbitration Act (Cap 49)section 6

Cases cited (2)

  • Scott v Avery
  • Kenindia Assurance Company Ltd v Patrick Muturi
    Civil Appeal No. 87 of 1993 (Unreported)
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nyeri
H.C.C.C. No. 270 of 1991
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal from the High Court (statutory appellate jurisdiction)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (4)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Corporate Insurance Company v Loise Wanjiru Wachira [1996] KECA 70 (KLR)", Case Analysis (1996). Civil Appeal No. 151 of 1995. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/1996/70/eng@1996-01-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.