Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in judgment· [1980] KECA 36 (KLR)

Chauhan v Omagwa [1980] KECA 36 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
13 June 1980
1,869 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that a land buyer who never physically occupied the plot loses protection, even if they bought it in good faith.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The respondent contracted in August 1976 to buy plot Central Kitutu/Daraja Mbili/258 from Solomon B Kenyanya for Shs 17,500, took possession on signing and built a house nearly to completion. In August 1977 the vendor nonetheless transferred the same plot to the appellant for Shs 10,000, who was registered as absolute proprietor. Cotran J in the High Court declared the second sale and transfer null and void and, under section 143 of the Registered Land Act, ordered the register rectified to show the respondent as absolute proprietor. On appeal, Madan JA held that rectification under section 143(1) was available because the appellant's registration was a second registration procured by the vendor's fraud, as counsel conceded. The protection of section 143(2) for a proprietor in possession for valuable consideration was unavailable: possession is a pre-requisite to immunity, and the appellant was never in actual possession - the respondent was, and the appellant had been stopped from developing the fenced plot. Even if the appellant was a bona fide purchaser without notice, and even if the plaint disclosed no cause of action against him, rectification could still issue against a non-possessing registered owner. A retrial on possession was refused as too late after a twice-amended plaint and four defences. Law JA, in a concurring judgment, agreed the appellant's lack of possession removed section 143(2) protection; Potter JA concurred. The appeal was dismissed with costs and the High Court decision affirmed.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether section 143(2) of the Registered Land Act protected the appellant's registration from rectification

Holding

It did not, because possession is a pre-requisite to immunity and the appellant was not in possession; the respondent had been in possession since signing the agreement and had built a house there.

Reasoning

The court construed section 143(2) as requiring both valuable consideration and possession for a proprietor to be immune from rectification. The appellant's own evidence showed he was stopped from developing the plot and the respondent was in possession, having built a house. Even if the appellant was a bona fide purchaser without notice, lacking possession he could not resist rectification.

p. 3
02

Whether rectification could be ordered against a second registration obtained by fraud

Holding

Yes; the registration in favour of the appellant was not a first registration and was made by the first defendant's fraud, so the court was authorised under section 143(1) to order rectification.

Reasoning

The Transfer of Land Form showed a previous registration in favour of the first defendant, so the appellant's registration was a second registration, as counsel conceded. Only first registrations are indefeasible. Once fraud in the registration was established and the possession proviso did not apply, rectification in favour of the prior purchaser in possession was proper.

p. 3
03

Whether the plaint's alleged failure to disclose a cause of action against the appellant barred the orders made

Holding

No; joinder of the appellant was necessary as registered owner, and the court could order rectification under section 143 even if the plaint did not disclose a cause of action against him, provided he was not in possession.

Reasoning

The respondent's principal cause of action lay against the first defendant, whom the judge called a dishonest crook. The appellant was properly joined as registered proprietor. Once the judge was satisfied the registration was procured by fraud, section 143 authorised rectification regardless of pleading deficiencies, since the appellant lacked possession.

p. 3
04

Whether the appellant was a bona fide purchaser without notice

Holding

The High Court judge was entitled to find he was not; he knew the plot well, inspected it before buying, could not have missed the respondent's building works, was a business partner of the vendor, and paid a significantly lower price.

Reasoning

The Court of Appeal endorsed Cotran J's factual findings: the appellant was a Kisii businessman, the plot only 1 ½ miles from town, he inspected it before purchase, the vendor was his business partner, and the price of Shs 10,000 against the earlier price of Shs 17,500 spoke for itself. At the very least he acquiesced in the fraud. However, the dispositive ground remained absence of possession.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Under section 143(2) of the Registered Land Act, immunity from rectification requires the proprietor to be in possession; a registered proprietor not in possession cannot invoke the protection even if a bona fide purchaser for value without notice.
  • Only a first registration may not be attacked even if obtained by fraud or mistake; a second registration obtained by fraud is liable to rectification under section 143(1).
  • 'Possession' for the purposes of section 143(2) means actual possessing of the land, not acts such as fencing alone.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed
  2. 2.Appellant to pay costs of the appeal
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Not stated in judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal (statutory appeal from High Court decision under the Registered Land Act)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Chauhan v Omagwa [1980] KECA 36 (KLR)", Case Analysis (1980). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/1980/36/eng@1980-06-13

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.